Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!


Tress Bucyanayandi

agriculturalist and politician

Tress Bucyanayandi is an agriculturalist and politician. He is the former Minister for Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries in the Ugandan Cabinet. He was appointed to that position on 27 May 2011. He is also the former elected Member of Parliament (MP) for Bufumbira County South parliamentary constituency, Kisoro District, in the Ugandan Parliament.

Background and education

He was born in modern-day on 1 January 1938. At that time, the sub-region was known as Kigezi District. He studied at Bukalasa Agricultural College, graduating with the Diploma in Agriculture, in 1964 He was awarded a scholarship to continue his studies abroad. He entered West Virginia University, graduating with the degree of Bachelor of Science in Agriculture in 1966. He transferred to the University of Wisconsin–Madison, where he obtained the degree of Master of Science in Agriculture in 1970.


Following his studies in the, he returned to Uganda and was appointed Kinyara Sugar Works Limited, serving in that position until 1974. From Kinyara, he transferred to the headquarters of the Agriculture Ministry, as the Assistant Commissioner, serving in that capacity for the next ten years until 1985. In 1985, he was promoted to Deputy Commissioner of Agriculture, serving in that capacity until 1990. In 1990, he received another promotion to Director of Agriculture, serving in that capacity until 1993. In 1993, he left the Ministry of Agriculture when he was appointed of Uganda Coffee Development Authority, the government regulatory agency responsible for regulation, supervision and supporting the coffee industry in the country, serving there until 2000. He entered national politics in 2006 when he successfully contested as the parliamentary representative for Bufumbira County South in Kisoro District. He was re-elected in 2011. In May 2011, he was appointed as Minister of Agriculture.

error: Content is protected !!